The Mahabharata Code by Karthik KB Rao-A Review

Karthik KB Rao/ Fiction Fantasy

My rating:★★★★☆

[★-lost me ★★-average ★★★-worth a read ★★★★-excellent ★★★★★-amazing]

the mahabharata code

The Mahabharata Code is a personal account of the main protagonist Narayan Rao (NR), who claims to be an astronomer with NASA. NR and a few other crew members agree to take part in the NASA mission to visit this mystery planet from which they had received mysterious signals. Here, they meet a man with a long flowing white beard, and he introduces himself as Vyasa. He reveals that he has a crazy plan in mind and seeks NR and his members’ help in implementing this plan. He intends to recreate the entire Mahabharata on this planet to restore the faith of the primitive simpletons here.

As the Mahabharata incidents start unfolding, NR realizes that Vyasa intends to recreate them page by page here, if not paragraph by paragraph. Also NR begins to realize that his son, Krishna, who is being groomed by Vyasa as Vishnu’s avatar, is nothing more than a pawn in Vyasa’s scheme of things. Other incidents of Mahabharata also unfold according to the original epic. Pandavas and Kauravas grow up hating each other and finally the restaging plan culminates with both the warring sets of cousins facing each other in the battlefield of Kurukshetra.
Inexplicably, like the original epic, Arjuna develops cold feet seeing his own cousins, teachers and relatives on the opposite side. He seeks Krishna’s divine intervention. Is the brainwashed “alien” Krishna prepared for this intervention?


I thought this book would be hard for me to follow, since I have exactly 0.24735% knowledge of the actual Mahabharata. But thanks to the author’s easy retelling, I wasn’t having too much of a problem. The book is told from many fronts at once, from the point of view of Krishna, Vyasa, Arjuna, Kunti but is primarily narrated by Narayan Rao, simultaneously in two time frames, on planet Earth and on a distant mystery planet. There’s also a third Narayan, who supposedly lives in a Utopian land, where the Hindu majority and Muslim community lives in harmony in India, India is undivided from Kashmir to Kanyakumari and Karachi to Dhaka, Gandhi replaces Jesus and a revolver replaces the cross.

Narayan Rao is a scientist working at NASA, who, brought up on a diet of Ramayana and Mahabharata by his grandmother, believes them to be a part of India’s history rather than a myth or epic. So when NASA receives strange signals of various Hindu symbols like Om, Shree, and Swastika and also a cryptic message ‘Athithi Devo Bhava'[Guest is like God] from a distant planet in the Milky way galaxy, he is one of those who plan to go to that planet to search for signs of habitation and drill oil wells. But first, he goes back to India and marries Srishti, his cousin from his mother’s side and takes her along on the journey. On reaching that planet, they encounter an old man who explains to them that their help is needed to stage the Mahabharata to restore the faith of the primitive simpletons there. Narayan and Srishti’s son, Krishna is soon groomed as Vishnu’s avatar. Page by page, paragraph by paragraph, all the events from Mahabharata start happening, from Arjuna winning the hand of Draupadi, to the Pandavas and Kauravas growing up hating each other, which eventually culminates into the great war, where Arjuna develops cold feet at the thought of fighting his family members.

The old man, Vyasa, also tells them how the Ramayana too was staged here, with Ravana making nine clones of himself and being called Ravana with ten heads. All the events which happen in this staging of the Mahabharata are given a scientific explanation, with biometric scanning, cloning, and test tube babies scoring high on their scale. In the end, instead of Krishna giving a discourse to Arjuna, Narayan gets a one to one with Krishna, who explains humanity and the concept of God to him in a software programmer’s word, giving the feel of an anti-climax.

The Mahabharata Code is rightly a parable for our times, it teaches us that everything is predestined, and yet we have free will, and that Karma is a bitch. It also tells us of having belief and conviction in what we like the most. The book employs the use of funny and hilarious language, with interesting analogies. The author has merged his extensive knowledge of both Indian mythology and information technology in an outstanding debut.

〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰

A/N: I received a free copy of the book from the author in exchange for a review.

Thank you for reading. If you are viewing this in your reader[Wordpress users], please go to my feed and click on the Follow button on top. If you are viewing this on my site[Wordpress and non-Wordpress users], please click on the Follow button on the bottom right corner on the screen.

Much love.

132 thoughts on “The Mahabharata Code by Karthik KB Rao-A Review

  1. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.

    It will always be helpful to read through content
    from other authors and use a little something from other web sites.

    Like

  2. With havin so much content and articles do
    you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a
    lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it
    up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being ripped off?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Like

  3. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance”
    between usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a fantastic
    job with this. In addition, the blog loads very quick
    for me on Chrome. Exceptional Blog!

    Like

  4. Hi! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the great work!

    Like

  5. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering
    if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so
    any help is very much appreciated.

    Like

  6. I together with my buddies were actually taking note of the excellent key points located on the blog while suddenly got an awful feeling I never expressed respect to the blog owner for those strategies. All the guys are already totally glad to see them and have now in reality been using those things. Appreciate your indeed being indeed thoughtful and also for figuring out some decent things millions of individuals are really wanting to learn about. Our own sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to you sooner.

    Like

  7. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Cheers

    Like

  8. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this information for my mission. http://bit.ly/2insEbF

    Like

  9. Attractive component to content. I simply stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your augment or even I achievement you get entry to consistently quickly.

    Like

  10. Greetings, There’s no doubt that your site might be having
    browser compatibility problems. When I look at your website in Safari,
    it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues.
    I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Besides that, great website! http://bit.ly/2km6ESQ

    Like

  11. I just like the helpful information you supply in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again right here frequently. I’m fairly sure I’ll be informed plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the following!

    Like

  12. I’m impressed, I need to say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the problem is one thing that not enough people are talking intelligently about. I am very comfortable that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing relating to this.

    Like

  13. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of
    content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1
    or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

What did you think?♥📖💬

