Why Can I Never Say Hunger Games Quotes Correctly?

I have been doing my annual re-reading of my favorite books, which includes the holy triumvirate of Khaled Hosseini’s ‘Thousand Splendid Suns’, ‘The Kite Runner’ and ‘And The Mountains Echoed’, J.K. Rowling’s ‘Harry Potter’, obviously, and Suzanne Collins’ ‘The Hunger Games.’ I don’t know why I do this annual re-reading, maybe it just makes me feel that everything is right in the world, I’m comfortable, and this is home.

Okay, back to what the title says. I am socially awkward, it takes me 7 mental rehearsals  to say something as mundane as ‘Hi, how are you?’ , I have 57678468364 things in my mind at the same time, out of which 46778838295 are things which are never going to happen. Hunger Games has a lot of quotes you can use in real life like a badass, but obviously, I always have to mess something up.

Exhibit A.

This one time my friends and I wanted to say the “May the odds be ever in your favor” thing out loud as one. I was thinking about how in the book, the first time this line comes, Gale has thrown a berry to Katniss while saying ‘May the odds’, Katniss catches it and finishes ‘be ever in your favor’. So since I was thinking about berries, it came out as “May the odds be ever in your FLAVOR”.

 

Exhibit B

In school once; break time, the whole school is out, and the drunk part of my brain tells me there’s no harm in parting through the river of idiots and screaming “I volunteer as tribute!”, but obviously because I was thinking of a river, I. Screamed.In.Front.Of.The.Whole.School “I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTARY!”

This is why I don’t go to school much.

 

There are more ridiculously horrendously embarrassing incidents, but reliving these two has taking out all the energy in me and now all I want to do is curl up in bed with ice-cream and pizza alone, away from all the people who will judge me.

 


Like Haymitch Abernathy said, ‘This (post) is MAHOGANY’.

(“Effie Trinket”) (“WHat?”) (“Effie Trinket said that, not Haymitch”) (“Shut up, I know my Hunger Names”)

(See what I did there?)

(Has anyone else noticed how on one side, my poems are like ‘Whoaaaathisisamazingwhoisthepoetohitisme’ and on the other there are dopes like this which make me look like I have done every drug on the surface on the earth)

(Oh leave)

7 thoughts on “Why Can I Never Say Hunger Games Quotes Correctly?

What did you think?♥📖💬

