The Year 2016 in: Read📖

read-bookshelf

After a year of reading only during the holidays and when the commute to school was too long and lonely, I finally came back to my first love: Reading. It took a message from GoodReads, where I didn’t realize I had an account , asking me to take the 2016 Reading Challenge, that I saw how behind I was on my reading. On a whim, I set my goal to 50 books, thinking it would be lucky if I read even 40.

I finished my goal of 50 books in June.

Blep.

The second half of 2016 was slow since I got busy with studies and stuff. I read 85 (!!!) books this year, in the given order (clicking on the link will take you to the book’s GoodReads page):-

  1. Gone Girl- Gillian Flynn
  2. The Book With No Pictures- B.J. Novak
  3. All The Light We Cannot See- Anthony Doerr
  4. The Girl On The Train- Paula Hawkins
  5. The Autobiography of Malcolm X- As Told To Alex Haley
  6. Secret Daughter- Shilpi Somaya Gowda
  7. The Grapes Of Wrath- John Steinbeck
  8. The God Of Small Things- Arundhati Roy
  9. The Namesake- Jhumpa Lahiri
  10. The Nightingale- Kristin Hannah
  11. The Catcher in the Rye- J.D. Salinger
  12. Sidney Sheldon’s After The Darkness- Tilly Bragshawe
  13. The Maze Runner- James Dashner
  14. The Scorch Trials- James Dashner
  15. Dating Isn’t For Dummies- Ila
  16. The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzelagard
  17. The Prophet- Kahlil Gibran
  18. Two Years Eight Months and Twenty Eight Nights- Salman Rushdie
  19. Eat Pray Love- Elizabeth Gilbert
  20. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter- Kim Edwards
  21. The Broken Window- Jeffrey Deaver
  22. My Name is Red- Orhan Pamuk
  23. Thanks For the Memories- Cecelia Ahern
  24. Final Jeopardy- Linda Fairstein
  25. Likely To Die- Linda Fairstein
  26. The Mammoth Book of Comic Crime- various
  27. Burnt Shadows- Kamila Shamsie
  28. A God in Every Stone- Kamila Shamsie
  29. Gulab- Annie Zaidi
  30. The White Tiger- Aravind Adiga
  31. Invoked- Karan Bhatia
  32. The Inheritance of Loss- Kiran Desai
  33. Lethal- Sandra Brown
  34. The Fear Index- Robert Harris

(okay this is boring. I don’t think anyone of you is still even reading this. In case you are, see the full list here)

This year also marks the time I started collecting and buying books for my personal library. Honestly yes, for the first 15 years of my life I read books from libraries and begging them from my friends. It gives me a strange (and obscene) satisfaction to save money for months and spend in in minutes on my favorite books.
Hopefully, in the coming year, I read a lot and take in all that books give me. I’ll also have more books and more time to read them.

TILL NEXT TIME,

Much love.


Read the first part of the series here

13 thoughts on “The Year 2016 in: Read📖

  1. NOT boring at all … I find that I have read many that are on your list, others are on my TBR list, and still others I have not heard of but plan to look into. Thanks for sharing your list! I failed my Goodreads challenge this year, but am going to try to do better next year. It isn’t that I didn’t read, but rather that I was lazy about updating my list and now cannot remember everything I read. Plus, I have gotten into a terrible habit of having 5-6 books started at a time! Good wishes to you for next year. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hah thanks!
      And I thought my TBR list was long. I have the same habit of reading at least 3 books at the same time and everyone wonders how I manage to keep track of what I read.
      No worries! Next year is going to be your year. Go for it!!
      Good wishes to you too 🙂
      ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I HAVE TO STARVE AND SCRIMP AND SAVE TO THAT AFTER 3 MONTHS I HAVE ENOUGH TO BUY 1 THIN AF BOOK BUT OMG IT IS SO WORTH IT.
      And why are the Eids so far away from each other that’s so unfair>
      Get a library membership or read the cough pdf cough version of the book.

      Like

What did you think?♥📖💬

