You Can’t Make Homes Out of Human Beings

“You can’t make homes out of human beings.”
~
Warsan Shire

I never really understood what this meant. Never tried to. For me, home meant a pair of arms, a shoulder to cry on, a back to take support on. It meant a repository of inside jokes, secret smiles, and twinkling eyes. It was a listening ear, sweet words, and no judgments. It meant someone to fight with and scream myself hoarse at; and yet  be my most vulnerable next to, and forget last night’s arguments in the morning. Home was where he was. For me, home was a person. Until it was not. Suddenly and simply. I was lost, forget the clichéd metaphor. I felt like someone had lifted me while I was sleeping, and dumped me on an empty island, where I would be doomed to live forever. Fore once, even my trusted medicine of good ol’ booze didn’t help. I desperately wanted him to sooth my headache and coax the hangover out of my system. And now, I’m going through life, like a zombie; dead eyes, dull skin, empty heart. “When home goes from being a person to a place”? Honey, I made that mistake. Nut now it feels like a trusted and invited guest to my house made away with all my belongings when I was asleep. Make homes out of four walls and a roof, darling. You can’t make homes out of human beings.

37 thoughts on “You Can’t Make Homes Out of Human Beings

      1. ah…a quote… William Blake.. ‘He who binds to himself a joy, doth the winged thing destroy, but he who kisses the joy as it flies, lives in eternity’s sunrise’ .
        No walls, no doors, just sharing love… what a dream for we humans to aspire to eh?
        stay happy Anam 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautiful words, beautifully written. It rather ties with something I have long said. “No one person can be everything to another person. It is too much responsibility … it is too much to ask.” We bring, we accept another person into our lives, and perhaps we give them our heart. But we haven’t the right to ask them to be our universe, for nobody can live up to that.

    Hugs, sweet young lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please help me and my family spread our website, Barak Allahu Feeki. It’s an Islamic website and my father is a well-known student of knowledge. I would highly appreciate it, Shukraan. He’s American, and He’s been teaching since 2009, and I think he’s working on his Basters or masters or something I don’t remember.

    Liked by 1 person

What did you think?♥📖💬

